Nevada_CountiesThe ASSP Sierra Nevada Chapter was charted on February 17, 1984. The Chapter was established to: A) Promote the growth and the development of the safety professional. B) To develop and/or promote educational programs for obtaining the knowledge required to perform the functions of a safety professional. C) To develop and/or disseminate locally information and materials that will carry out the purposes of the Chapter, the Society and serve the public. D) To provide and/or support forums for the interchange and acquisition of professional knowledge among its members. E) To foster liaison with local organizations of related disciplines. F) To inaugurate and implement such other programs and projects that are consistent with the purposes of the Chapter and the Society. G) To conduct its affairs in a manner that will reflect the standards, purposes and objectives of the Society. H) To communicate with members through various means with newsletters, e-mail, U.S. mail, etc.

Areas established for the ASSP Sierra Nevada Chapter are defined as: Carson, Churchill, Douglas, Elko, Eureka, Humboldt, Landers, Lyon, Mineral, Pershing, Storey, and Washoe counties.

Chapter Sections: Sections may be formed by this Chapter to serve ten (10) or more dues-paying Chapter members whose geographical location, within the Chapter area, constitutes an inconvenience to participate in Chapter affairs, and whose number is insufficient to permit formation of a new Chapter. The group must petition the Chapter Executive Committee to form a Section of the Chapter, subject to approval of the Regional Operating Committee. For more information as to the requirements for the operation of the Section Group please refer to the Sierra Nevada Chapter’s Bylaws, Article VII – Sections. If you are interested in establishing a Section Group please email the Chapter President at president@sierranevada.assp.org.